Hello Success Squad!

I found a great recipe on the Weight Watchers web site for turkey breasts with an Apricot Glaze. Well, I couldn't find turkey breasts at the store for a reasonable price, so I decided to adapt it and turn it into meat loaf. I'm glad I did. It came out amazing and we enjoyed leftovers for days!

Here is the recipe:

Turkey Meatloaf with Apricot Glaze

Yields 8 servings 5 SP per servings.
Ingredients:
1.5 lbs ground Turkey (93% lean)
1 cups onion
4 oz Apricot Jelly (I used Sugar Free Smucker’s Apricot)
1 tsp Dijon mustard (or your favorite fancy mustard)
1 egg
1 package fresh poultry herbs (Rosemary, Sage, Thyme – found in produce section)
½ cup plain bread crumbs
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350
2. Mix the apricot jelly and Dijon mustard in a small bowl and set aside (I know it sounds weird, but it will be good)
3. Pick the leaves off of the rosemary, thyme and sage and mince the herbs
4. Mix the onions, turkey, egg, bread crumbs, salt and pepper & most of the herbs until well mixed
1. save some of the mixed herbs for leftovers!
5. spray a loaf pan with non-stick
6. Place the mix into the loaf pan
7. Top with the apricot/mustard mixture (like you would ketchup on a traditional meat loaf)
8. Cook until the internal temperature is 165 (about 40-45 minutes)

Notes:
* I used a package of "Poultry Herbs" that I found in the produce section at Kroger. It had a couple sprigs of rosemary and thyme and a few sage leaves. They came in a little plastic package and were by the other package fresh herbs.
* I used Inglehoofer Honey Mustard instead of Dijon for the glaze. It was a good combination of sweet and savory.
* We made open-faced sandwiches with some of the left overs. We toasted the bread, spread a little apricot jelly and sprinkled some of the left over herbs over the bread. It came out really good.


As always, let me know if you have any suggestions or questions.

Have a great week!
Dave